Cornelius Castoriadis

Cornelius Castoriadis était un philosophe, économiste et psychanalyste franco-grec. Il a été l’auteur de L’Institution Imaginaire de la Société et le co-fondateur (avec Claude Lefort) du groupe Socialisme ou Barbarie.

Ses écrits sur l’autonomie et les institutions sociales ont été influentes tant auprès des cercles militants que des milieux universitaires. Ce qui a distingué Socialisme et Barbarie d’autres groupes révolutionnaires était que le socialisme ne signifiait pas le pouvoir à un « parti dirigeant » mais la gestion par les travailleurs de la production et de la société.

read more »

Correspondance Castoriadis - Pannekoek (1953-1954), deuxième lettre: Réponse au camarade Pannekoek

Votre lettre a procuré une grande satisfaction à tous les camarades du groupe ; satisfaction de voir notre travail apprécié par un camarade honoré comme vous l’êtes et qui a consacré toute une vie au prolétariat et au socialisme ; satisfaction de voir confirmée notre idée d’un accord profond entre vous et nous sur les points fondamentaux ; satisfaction enfin de pouvoir discuter avec vous et d’enrichir notre revue avec cette discussion.  read more »

Correspondance Castoriadis - Pannekoek (1953-1954): Première lettre de Pannekoek à Castoriadis

Cher camarade Chaulieu,

Je vous remercie beaucoup pour la série des onze numéros de Socialisme ou Barbarie que vous m'avez donnés, par l'intermédiaire du camarade B… Je les ai lus (bien que non encore terminés) avec un extrême intérêt pour la grande concordance de vues qu’ils révèlent entre nous. Vous avez probablement fait le même constat à la lecture de mon livre Les Conseils ouvriers. read more »

Cornelius Castoriadis

Cornelius Castoriadis was a Greek-French philosopher, social critic, economist and psychoanalyst. He was the author of The Imaginary Institution of Society, and co-founder of the Socialisme ou Barbarie group.

His writings on autonomy and social institutions have been influential in both academic and activist circles.What distinguished Socialisme ou Barbarie from many other revolutionary groups was its idea that socialism meant not rule by a "leading party" versed in Marxist theory but workers' management of production and society. read more »

The Castoriadis-Pannekoek Exchange (1953 - 1954): Second letter

Your letter has provided a great satisfaction to all the comrades of the group; satisfaction of seeing our work appreciated by a comrade honored as you are and who has devoted an entire life to the proletariat and to socialism; satisfaction of seeing confirmed our idea of a profound agreement between you and us on the fundamental points; satisfaction finally of being able to discuss with you and of enriching our review with this discussion. read more »

The Castoriadis-Pannekoek Exchange (1953 - 1954): First letter

I offer you many thanks for the series of eleven issues of Socialisme ou Barbarie that you gave to comrade B… to give to me. I read them (though I haven’t yet finished) with great interest, because of the great agreement between us that they reveal. 

read more »

Socialism and the transformation of work

Socialism will only be brought about by the autonomous action of the majority of the population. Socialist society is nothing other than the self-organization of this autonomy. Socialism both presupposes this autonomy, and helps to develop it. read more »